This is a small guide in simple language that can help minimize the potential threats to your security and privacy on Facebook
Facebook developers keep on pushing codes every day. From UI updates to new features and new settings..Keeping up with Facebook's ever changing landscape and the way it affects the security and privacy of your account can be a challenge.
Here are few most common problems and it’s solution on Facebook for beginner s as well as advance users.
I hope, you’ll find it useful.
Cheers!
I hope, you’ll find it useful.
Cheers!
I’ve been personally a victim of Facebook profile hacking few years ago. Someone from Egypt somehow accessed and edited my profile. Luckily, now Facebook have enough options to prevent or at least notify you before a major damage is done.
Because of this option, whenever anyone else will login to your account by using a different machine from where you usually sign in, Facebook will immediately notify you by text message. You can even remotely sign out from your account using this feature.
Overview o
f Go to Account (Top Right) ->Account Settings ->In “Settings” tab,scroll down to select Account Security. And select appropriate option.
Whenever any of your friends is using Facebook application/ game, that application/game can take your personal information including your profile picture, bio and so on, even if you are not using it. (Eg: You must have noticed that sometimes when a friend uses an application like My Top Friends, it is accessing your profile pic and other information without your consent and does annoying things like tagging your pic on it.
To prevent this, go to Account (top left corner)->Privacy Settings->Apps and Websites.
Click Edit Settings next to Info accessible through your friends, and uncheck any necessary boxes
Click Edit Settings next to Info accessible through your friends, and uncheck any necessary boxes
You might have noticed that your Facebook profile shows “social ad” along with the action taken by your friends like “liking” it. Sounds like no harm, as long as your liking nice nifty pages but if there are things and pages that you want to like and do not want your friends to know about, take following action.
To make sure that your Facebook actions won't be associated with “social ad”,
i.Go to account(top left corner) ->Account Settingsand click the Facebook Ads tab.
From the drop-down menu, choose either No one or Only my friends, depending on your preference.
From the drop-down menu, choose either No one or Only my friends, depending on your preference.
We generally tend to add hell lot of applications and then we don’t care to remove them from this list. Result. Annoying updates and risk of allowing applications to send your data to third party (believe me, you won’t like this). So how to remove unwanted apps that you don’t want to use anymore?. Here’s the solution.
Go to Account->Privacy Settings->Applications and Websites.
Now, next to Apps you selected, choose Edit Settings.
Here, you ‘ll be able to see that which applications have been authorized to interact with your account and when you authorized them, you can even edit the settings or delete the application entirely.
Here, you ‘ll be able to see that which applications have been authorized to interact with your account and when you authorized them, you can even edit the settings or delete the application entirely.
Whenever someone Google or Bings your name, there are chances that your Facebook profile will be displayed. Good if you want to be found by your long lost friends and BAD when you are on Facebook and do not want to be found by your partner, boss or someone else.
Go to Account->Privacy Settingsand select “Edit your settings “under 'Apps and Websites' (located left bottom left). Click Edit Settings next to the last option, Public search, and uncheck the box to disable it.
We generally set our all albums as private but what about “Profile Pictures”, “Mobile Uploads”, “Wall Photos” ?. Recently I witnessed a clone profile of one of my friends. She had set privacy level to “only friends” except for “Profile Pictures”(by default Public) and someone took the picture. So how to completely protect your pictures? Here’s the solution.
At the bottom of first section, you’ll find “Edit Album Privacy”. Select the appropriate album and set the privacy.
Posted By: Mudassir Malik (Mircrosoft Student Partner)
Website: Technirvanaa.wordpress.com
Comments
Post a Comment